I'm taking a different approach to Monday today.  Instead of compiling my usual list of ten things I love/appreciate/am proud of about my body, I have looked back on all the lists I've made in the last two months and have compiled here my definitive body love list as it stands on this propitious day.

1. I have strong legs that can walk for miles and take me wherever I need to go, be it seven miles or twenty.
2. I have strong arms that can do 100 pushups (in nine minutes), lift heavy when working out, and can carry a 35-pound bucket of cat litter up two flights of stairs.
3. I have sexy hips that way when I dance (and walk), being the Zumba Mami I am.
4. I have agile fingers that can play beautiful music on the piano (I can span a 10th, you know), recorder, ukulele, and djembe.
5. I have beautiful hazel eyes, framed by fabulous glasses, which look particularly nice when I'm wearing purple.  A friend called them "cat's eyes" recently, which I thought was pretty awesome.
6. I have a coordinated body that can dance a sultry salsa......or Gahu...or be a penguin, and can also bust out some decent punch combos on the heavy bag.
7. I have adorable summer freckles that keep me looking young.
8. I have womanly hourglass curves that are feminine and shapely.
9. I have an expressive face that can be clownish or stern (and anything in between, including a frog face) and never fails to get my point across.
10. I have calves of steel.  They're strong, and they look damn fine during shorts season.
11. I have a huge smile that takes up half my face when I want it to.  It's uniquely mine...and my sister's.  It can invite a hello from a stranger or express a thank you to those who need one.
12. I have lovely (and cooperative) hair that is beautiful both curly and straight.
13. I have a prominent (currently sun-kissed and freckled) nose that was the bane of my existence as a middle-schooler but which has become one of my favorite features as an adult.
14. I have resilient muscles and joints that can wake up feeling refreshed and pain-free in the morning after walking twenty (freaking) miles.
15. I have determined feed that can continue walking for miles even when they are blistered and tired.
16. I have an equally determined brain that helped tell those feet to keep walking.
17. I have healthy lungs that breathed fully and without difficulty throughout a 20-mile walk (and are still holding their own during allergy season, too).
18. I have a strong back that is able to withstand even the most fully-loaded fanny pack on a long journey.
19. I have grateful hands that were able to shake, high-five and wave to over fifty police officers to express my gratitude for their service.
20. I have long, lovely eyelashes (with pretty purple mascara on them).
21. I have a raucous, indelicate laugh (one might even call it a guffaw).
22. I have a strong, resilient heart (both in the physical/medical sense and in the metaphorical sense--both of which are important).
23. I am powerful, strong, and determined.  And I AM BEAUTIFUL.

TWENTY-THREE.  My first shot at this I struggled for a good long time to get to ten.  And now I know for sure that there are 23 things that I love about myself.


And once more I encourage you to jump on the Body Love Monday bandwagon.  It's a really pleasant ride.



Leave a Reply.