I took yesterday off of work and was therefore in Sunday mode all day and completely forgot to write my Monday body love list!  Apologies.

And why did I take yesterday off, you ask?  Because I walked TWENTY freaking miles on Sunday.  Yeah, buddy!

I think I shall challenge myself to make today's body love list all related to my walk (details of which will be coming in a post sometime later on this week).

1. I have strong legs that can walk 20 (freaking) miles.
2. I have resilient muscles and joints that can wake up feeling refreshed and pain-free the morning after walking 20 (freaking) miles.
3. I have a bright smile that can invite a hello from a stranger or express a thank you to those who need one.
4. I have a sun-kissed nose covered with freckles thanks to 7 hours out in the sunshine.
5. I have determined feet that can continue walking for miles even when they are blistered and tired.
6. I have an equally determined brain that helped tell those feet to keep walking.
7. I have healthy lungs that breathed fully and without difficulty throughout my long walk.  (This might not seem like a great feat to some, but with asthma and having had pneumonia this past winter, this is something I'm feeling REALLY good about.)
8. I have a strong back that is able to withstand even the most fully-loaded fanny pack on a long journey.
9. I have grateful hands that were able to shake, high-five, and wave to over 50 police officers to express my gratitude for their service.
10. I am powerful, strong, determined.

And a couple of bonus things that are awesome:
A. I have fantastic family and friends who supported my walk and my fundraising efforts.
B. I have a truly amazing mother who supported me all day long and was kind enough to roll out my calves with a rolling pin on Sunday evening.  That is LOVE right there, folks.
5/10/2013 10:31:05 am

I absolutely love this list! What a wonderful way to celebrate you and the amazing thing you did!

Reply
5/10/2013 08:37:37 pm

Thank you, Tracy! I make this list every Monday (or Tuesday this week, since on Monday I thought it was Sunday) and the rule is that I am not allowed to look at the previous week's list until afterwards. Through this process I've gone from a list of 10 things I love/am proud of/appreciate about my body to nearly 20!

Reply



Leave a Reply.